The facts about Agave and Fructose

It has been written that agave nectar may not be a  healthy natural sweetener substitute.  Instead it may be a highly refined form of fructose, that can contribute to disease.  Agave may be found in foods labeled “organic raw” such as health fo0d bars and health drinks.  Agave plants are in the lily family and for thousands of years natives to central Mexico used different species of agave plants for medicine.  But the natives would allow this agave plant to ferment naturally, and they also boiled the plant for several hours to make a sweetener.  But the agave nectar purchased in ths stores is neither one of these foods.  The agave is a created sweetener, whose  principle constituent is starch, (such as corn or rice).  The process to make the agave starch into fructose and then sold as agave nectar is through a chemial conversion that alters the nonsweet starch into refined fructose. 

And fructose is not what is found in fruit.  Fructose has adverse effects on insulin action.  It can actually have a decline in insulin sensitivity in the liver and later in peripheral tissues.  Considering there is an increase in obesity and type 2 diabetes in the United States, this may well be because of the substantial increase in the amount of dietary fructose consumption from high intake of sucrose (Sucrose is made up of 50% fructose )  and high fructose corn syrup.  Numbers of animal studies show: high fructose diets induce hypertension in animals; promotes atherosclerosis; raises triglycerides; raises LDL and VLDL. Fructose has also been reported to increase glycosylated hemoglobin more than any other sugar.  

Warning :  Many supplements do  contain fructose.   This added sweetener may be a health concern and not appropriate for diabetics.  The new MicroMiracles chewable digestive enzyme does not contain fructose, it contains the natural alcohol sugar  Erythritol   as does the BioSET Chewable Digestive Enzyme

If you would like to read more about this, here are some references:

Science Daily. http://www.science daily.com/releases/2008/10/081016074701.htm;

http://healthnews.uc.edu/news/?825/;Bray Ga, Nielsen SJ, Popkin BM

Am J Clin Nutr. 2004;79(4):537-543.

I would also recommend reading more on Agave in the Townsend Letter May 2009 Issue #310 Agave nectar by Rami Nagel  P 69-73

10 thoughts on “The facts about Agave and Fructose

  1. Hey Dr. Cutler!

    I am so excited to have found you during my many online searches. I have been dealing with many digestive issues since entering puberty at 14 (I am 20 now). I realize I need to be taking enzymes to stop my ravenous appetite 24/7. I have water retention and weight gain that is so resistant to exercise/vegan diet. I avoid wheat/gluten as well. Lately when I eat brown rice or legumes I get acidic sulfur tasting burps. I am always bloated and have severe menstural/hormone imbalances. I tried going raw but when I eat fruit I bloat more and feel tired shortly after. I have recently heard about carbohydrate intolerance and see a big connection there! Do you have any advice on what sort of foods I should eat. I live in Victoria, B.C. but wish I could visit your clinic and get furthur testing. Any advice would help. I’d do anything to feel healthy/slim again 😦

    Kelsey

    • Look into Ph balance for Gout,
      over load of acidic foods causes gout symptoms to appear
      go alkaline…a good source is a book called
      alkalize or die.
      best wishes, trinity sereph

  2. Loved your book Micro Miracles – however in Canada, I have not been able to find Protease alone, so I could take it for my injured leg – is it only available in the US? It sounds exactly what I need – as it has been 2 years and my leg is still not healing, it seems to be what I neeeeeeeeeeeeeed – please direct me – thanks, Alice
    ps I have of course been able to find combinations of all enzymes which is what I am taking, but I am sure the Protease alone would fix me, like in your case histories.

  3. Undeniably consider that that you stated. Your favourite justification seemed to
    be on the web the easiest factor to understand of. I say to you, I certainly get irked
    while other people consider worries that they plainly don’t
    realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

